Jump to Navigation

Real Estate

The Fogarty Cohen Selby & Nemiroff LLC real estate law practice, under the direction of Bruce F. Cohen and Steven W. Russo, has over 60 years collective experience representing real estate clients through out Fairfield County and the surrounding communities, including regular representation of major real estate developers and investors.

Our attorneys handle all legal matters arising out of commercial and residential real estate transactions, from the initial research regarding a parcel of property to closing. We advise clients during the negotiations, and prepare and review all documents necessary to successfully close a real property transaction, including buy-sell agreements, deeds, mortgages, notes, liens, and easements.

Additionally, our lawyers regularly handle land use and zoning issues. Supporting our land use attorneys, we have on staff two certified land planners dedicated to sorting out the complicated, local, state and federal land use laws and regulations. Our attorneys have significant experience securing municipal and state land use approvals and permits, as well as handling zoning, inland wetlands, and historic preservation issues. Moreover, our firm regularly handles cases involving variances and special exceptions before the Zoning Board of Appeals.

We have helped many property owners obtain regulatory approval for the subdivision and development of property, as well as for the expansion and development of schools, hospitals, clubs, retail and office projects. In addition, our commercial planning and zoning lawyers have undertaken feasibility analyses to help assess the acquisition of major commercial properties. Our attorneys examine the regulations associated with a particular property and seek the necessary approval from local, state, and federal departments and agencies. Some of the agencies we regularly work with include the Planning and Zoning Commission, the Inland Wetlands Water Course Agency, and the Zoning Board of Appeals

Serving Fairfield County, including Greenwich, Stamford, Darien, New Canaan, Norwalk, Westport, Weston, Wilton, Fairfield, Bridgeport, Ridgefield, Danbury and the surrounding communities.